Butte State Bank in Butte, Nebraska is located in North Central Nebraska between the Missouri, Niobrara and Keya Paha rivers. We pride our Bank in being "Small enough to know you and large enough to serve you".

Butte State Bank History

 The First National Bank was chartered in 1904. Officers of the bank were H.A. Olerich, M.L. Honke, E.R. Johnson, Emil Statsman, and J.A. McLaughlin. In 1944 the bank was changed from a National Bank to a state chartered bank and the name changed to Butte State Bank. The shareholders at the time of the charter change were: A.P. Anderson, R.W. Dickerson, W.W. Mahannah, W.L. Brennan, L.F. Reiman, Gustave Kehn, W.K. Witla, E.J. Statsman, and C.J. Tomek.

 In 1963 the bank was purchased by Joe G. Brewster. After the purchase Dennis Brewster moved to Butte to manage the bank. At that time the staff consisted of Joe Brewster, Dennis Brewster, Gary Sedlacek, and Margaret Cork. In 1971 Dennis and Lea Jane Brewster purchased controlling interest of the bank from his father Joe. As the community of Butte grew during that time the bank grew as well. In the mid 1970s the Butte State Company, a bank holding company, was formed and began selling insurance products under the name Butte State Agency. This arrangement still exists today with the Agency providing insurance products to the community and surrounding area. In 1999, Craig and Tammy Brewster purchased controlling interest in the bank from his parents Dennis and Lea Jane. Craig became the third generation of the Brewster family to own controlling interest of the bank. In 2006 the bank expanded its operations when a branch location was opened in Spencer, NE. The banking industry has changed greatly over the years and today the bank continues to provide banking products to the community using traditional bank products and evolving with technology to provide electronic banking services via computers, tablets, and smartphones.

 In 2015 the shareholders of the Butte State Company and Butte State Bank are Craig G. Brewster, Tammy Brewster, Dennis G. Brewster, Lea Jane Brewster, James B. Reiman, Howard F. Tiefenthaler, Donald J. Schmaderer, and Scott J. Brewster.